There are a number of ways to find the full (complete) text of journal articles. This guide assumes that you have a citation to a specific journal article. Please consult How to Find Journal Articles, or speak with a Reference Librarian, for further information. Please see
Off Campus Access to E-Resources for instructions on how to authenticate for off-campus access to library resources.
1. Full Text in a Journal Database
Some databases provide the full text of some or all articles. If available, you can most likely download, print or email the article right then and there. See a list of our online subscription databases at http://library.brooklyn.cuny.edu, then choose Databases or Resources by Subject.
If you identify an article where full text is not available, try the Button. FindIt! opens a new window, and indicates if your article is available full text in another database that we subscribe to. If it is, simply click the appropriate link to access the full text.
2. Identify Full Text Online Journals in the E-Journals Finder
First: Choose E-Journals Finder on the Library’s home page: http://library.brooklyn.cuny.edu/.
Second: Do a title search for your journal title in the E-Journals Finder. If we do have an online subscription, then you can link directly to it by clicking on the database name. Note that years of coverage differ among databases, so check your citation.
3. Identify Print Journals in the CUNY+ Catalog
First: Choose Catalog from the Library’s home page at http://library.brooklyn.cuny.edu/, then choose “Journal Title Search” from the gold menu bar to search only “Journal Titles” in the CUNY system.
Second: Do a browse search for your journal title in CUNY+
http://apps.appl.cuny.edu:83/F?func=find-b-0&local_base=brooklyn. If we do have a subscription, click on Brooklyn to make sure we have the issue you need.
Holdings options (what we own) include:
Microfilm: Journals are on microfilm and may be viewed with a reader/printer.
Periodical Stacks: These are the paper copies of the journal.
Holdings: These are the copies bound into volumes and shelved by call number. Note: pre-1980 bound journals are shelved at the back of the Lower Level on movable stacks.
Issues: These are the most recent issues, shelved by title in the Current Periodicals Section. Some current issues are held at the Periodicals Desk.
Web Resource: For limited publishers, online access is listed in CUNY+, click URL to link. See the
E-Journals Finder for more complete listings of online journals.
NB: Non-electronic journals are in the Periodicals area on the library’s lower level.
4. Find Full Text Online with a Web Search
Search Engines: You can try searching for your article in your favorite search engine: Google, Yahoo!, MSN, etc. — you never know! However, many times the full text is only available for a fee. Be sure to check our holdings before you pay for any articles!
Search Tip: Put a string of text from the article title in “quotes” so it is searched as a phrase. Try adding the author’s last name.
Results Tip: You may be able to locate an article, but it may not be free. Consider the other options on this form, including interlibrary loan, before paying.
Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com. Google’s tool for searching scholarly literature. Most searches return an assortment of citations, links to abstracts, and links to full text. Note that most full text articles it links to are NOT free. However, Brooklyn College subscribes to the “Library Links” program that will link you to full text we subscribe to — so be sure to turn on library links in Scholar Preferences and setup your browser for access to the Brooklyn College Proxy (see Remote Access to Resources).
Scirus: http://www.scirus.com. A search engine for scholarly scientific citations and links to articles. Searches a large collection of other free and pay resources including Elsevier’s ScienceDirect database and ArXiv.org. Be sure to check our holdings before paying for any articles.
5. Can’t Find Your Journal? Here’s a few things you can do:
Ask a Reference Librarian for help.
In person at the Reference Desk (1st floor )
Via telephone at (718) 951-5628
Via chat at http://library.brooklyn.cuny.edu/help/ask/
Via E-mail at RefDesk@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Check to see if another CUNY or NYC library has the journal you’re looking for, and then go get it. CUNY+ will show you journal holdings at other CUNY schools. You can also check the catalogs at the New York Public Library and
Brooklyn Public Library.
Request the article via Interlibrary Loan. Stop by the Reference Desk on the 1st floor of the library for a form, or fill out the form online at http://library.brooklyn.cuny.edu/services/ill/. Just remember that an ILL request takes at least two weeks—so this won’t work if you’re in a hurry. And be sure to check our holdings first!
|