Databases, Indexes and Search Engines
Edgar Database of Corporate Information
The brainchild of the Securities Exchange Commission, Edgar makes available much, but not all, of the information publicly traded companies must file with the government.
Federal Citizen Information Center http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/
FedWorld Information Network http://www.fedworld.gov/index.html
A gateway to government information, managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
Thomas (legislative information from the Library of Congress http://thomas.loc.gov/home/thomas.html
An excellent source of Congressional materials: bill information, Public Laws, the Congressional Record, hearings, committee reports, roll call votes, and more.
International Monetary Fund Publication Directory http://www.imf.org/external/pubind.htm
Social Security Death Index (SSDI) http://ssdi.genealogy.rootsweb.com/
One of the largest and easiest to access databases used for genealogical research is the Social Security Death Index (SSDI). Its information can be utilized to help you learn more about your ancestors.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Includes the U.S. Constitution, the Declaration of Independence, the Federalists Papers, the Gettysburg Address and the Emancipation Proclamation.
Access to Archival Databases http://aad.archives.gov/aad/
Online access to a selection of nearly 50 million historic electronic records created by more than 20 federal agencies on a wide range of topics.
State and Local Sources
Federal Gateway to State and Local Government http://fedgate.org
Provided by the Small Business Contracts Council, Inc.
NYS Government Information Locator http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ils/#nys
Search any branch of government--state or federal--you can find them all here as well as a good selection of hard to find independent agencies.
State and Local Government on the Net http://www.statelocalgov.net/
This directory provides one-stop access to the web sites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
Voter Registration http://www.vote.nyc.ny.us/
Find Out Who Represents You http://www.lwvnyc.org/TRY_find.html
Sponsored by the venerable League of Women Voters, this search allows you to find your representatives for local, state and federal government. The League of Women Voters also publishes a directory which provides basic information about city, state, and national governments; an alphabetized directory of New York City's elected officials; and maps of congressional, state senate, assembly, and city council districts.
Other Government Information Web Sites
Prepared by Prof. Jane Cramer and Lois Thom